Little Clacton, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Little Clacton, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex England  Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Little Clacton, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Clacton, Essex
St James Little Clacton contributor Peter Stack.jpg
St James Little Clacton contributor Peter Stack.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tendring
County Essex
Poor Law Union Tendring
Registration District Tendring
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery St Osyth
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Clacton (Little) or Little Clacton, is a parish in Tendring district, Essex; it is 7 miles SE by E of Wivenhoe railway station, and 11 SE of Colchester. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Little Clacton, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Little Clacton, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1538-1944
1538-1945
1538-1963
Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

1841 Census returns for both Great and Little Clacton are missing.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 207427.


Poor Law Unions

Tendring Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Little Clacton on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.