Little Compton, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WarwickshireGotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Little Compton, Warwickshire
Little Compton St Dennis and Manor House.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Deerhurst
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Chipping Norton
Registration District Chipping Norton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1588
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stow
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

Little Compton, Compton (Little), or Compton-Parva, is a parish in the district of Chipping-Norton and county of Warwick; 4 miles E of Moreton railway station, and 4½ miles NW of Chipping-Norton. The post town is, Barton-on-the-Heath, under Moreton-in-the-Marsh. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Little Compton, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[6]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[7]
Little Compton, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1605-1812 1605-1812 1605-1812 1605-1812 1605-1812 1605-1812
AC 1813-1891 1813-1891 1813-1884 1813-1884 1813-1891 1813-1891
FHSO 1802-1837
OFHS 1588-1999
1589-2000
1588-2000

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288768.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813', Ancestry, accessed 16 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1938', Ancestry, accessed 20 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  6. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  7. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.

http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-305988-church-of-st-denis-little-compton British listed Building website