Little Downham, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Little Downham, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Downham, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ely
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Ely
Registration District Ely
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ely
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

Downham, is a parish in Ely district, Cambridgeshire; it is on the Peterborough and Ely railway, near Chittisham railway station, and 2¾ miles NW of Ely. It has a post office under Ely. There are chapels for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]

DOWNHAM (St. Leonard), a parish in the union, hundred, and Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 2½ miles (N. N. W.) from Ely;There are places of worship for Baptists and Methodists.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers and poor law records for Downham, 1558-1875 at FHL

Registers of Downham, in the Isle of Ely, Cambridgeshire, England : locally called Little Downham to distinguish it from Downham Market not far away at FHL

Downham in the Isle, Cambridgeshire : parish register transcripts, baptisms, 1558-1907; marriages, 1558-1923; burials, 1558-1950; banns, 1754-1927 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Downham, 1599-1862 at FHL

Non Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Particular Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241226.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Little Downham on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted. Date accessed: 10 January 2013.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.