Little Eaton, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Little Eaton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Little Eaton, Derbyshire|
Little Eaton St Paul Derbyshire
|Hundred||Morlestone and Litchurch|
|Poor Law Union||Shardlow|
|Parish registers: 1790|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Little Eaton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1792 from chapelry in Derby St Alkmund, Derbyshire Ancient Parish.
EATON, LITTLE, a chapelry, in the parish of St. Alkmund, Derby, union of Shardlow, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 3¼ miles (N. N. E.) from Derby. The Independents and Methodists have places of worship.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).
Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
Little Eaton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Little Eaton St Paul (1790) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1791-1912
Little Eaton St Paul was formed in 1862 as an Ecclesiastical Parish, formerly a chapel of ease to Derby St Alkmund, Derbyshire which had been licensed for baptism and burial in 1790.
Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1293 has deposited registers Bap 1790-1973 Mar 1862-1964 Burials1790-1990 Banns 1862-1885, 1893-1980
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241292.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Little Eaton on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 136-139.Date accessed: 10 May 2013.