Little Gransden, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Little Gransden, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Gransden, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Longstow
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Caxton
Registration District Caxton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1730
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

GRANSDEN, LITTLE (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Caxton and Arrington, hundred of Longstow, county of Cambridge, 3 miles (S. W.) from Caxton.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Parish registers for Little Gransden, 1730-1878 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Little Gransden, 1599-1871 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts, 1600-1754 at FHL

Non-Conformist Churches

Particular Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241223.

 

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Little Gransden on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 322-325. Date accessed and adapted: 08 July 2013.