Little Kelk, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Little Kelk, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes K-R
East Riding of Yorkshire
Little Kelk

Guide to Little Kelk, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Kelk, Yorkshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dickering
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Driffield
Registration District Driffield
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

KELK, LITTLE, an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Driffield, wapentake of Dickering, E. riding of York, 5¾ miles (E. by N.) from Driffield. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online Records

Little Kelk, Yorkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
****PARISH NAME**** ##CHURCH OR PARISH## (1***) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None None None
JOIN None None None
AC None None None
HATH None None None
IARC None None None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 643-646. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.