Little Missenden, Buckinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Little Missenden, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Little Missenden, Buckinghamshire|
|Poor Law Union||Wycombe|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1575|
|Diocese||Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham|
|Location of Archive|
|Buckinghamshire Record Office|
MISSENDEN (LITTLE), a village and a parish in Wycombe district, Bucks, 2½ miles NW of Amersham, and 5½ E.NE of Wycombe r. station. There are two Baptist chapels, and a Wesleyan chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Little Missenden, Buckinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|Little Missenden, Buckinghamshire Genealogy Online Records|
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241211.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Little Missenden on GENUKI
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72 Date accessed and adapted 20 June 2013
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Buckinghamshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 28 January 2014.
- 'Buckinghamshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 28 January 2014.