Little Oakley, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Little Oakley, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Little Oakley, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Oakley, Essex
St Peter's Church, Little Oakley Essex.jpg
St Peter's Church, Little Oakley Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tendring
County Essex
Poor Law Union Tendring
Registration District Tendring
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harwich
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Oakley, Little or Little Oakley (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union and hundred of Tendring, N. division of Essex, 4 miles (S. W. by W.) from Harwich. There is a small place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Little Oakley, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
E & S = Essex & Suffolk Surnames - free[4]
Little Oakley, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1558-1930
1558-1956
1558-1990
FREG
1813-1837

1813-1817

1813-1837

E & S
1813-1837

1813-1817 (sorted by groom's surname); 1813-1817 (sorted by bride's surname)


1813-1837

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241376.


Poor Law Unions

Tendring Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Little Oakley on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848) Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.
  3. 'Essex Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 February 2015.
  4. 'Little Oakley St. Mary the Virgin', Essex and Suffolk Surnames, accessed 23 February 2015.