Little Parndon, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Little Parndon, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Little Parndon


Guide to Little Parndon, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Parndon, Essex
St Mary Little Parndon Essex contributor Stephen Craven.jpg
St Mary Little Parndon Essex contributor Stephen Craven
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Harlow
County Essex
Poor Law Union Epping
Registration District Epping
Records begin
Parish registers: 1621
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harlow
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Parndon (Little) or Little Pardon, is a parish in Epping district, Essex; on the river Stort and on the Eastern Counties railway, at the boundary with Cambridgeshire, 1 mile W S W of Burnt-Mill railway station, and 1½ miles N E of Great Parndon village.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Little Parndon, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Little Parndon, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1621-1959
1622-1957
1622-1998
Non-Conformist Churches

Roman Catholic

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Little Parndon on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870) Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.