Little Saling, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Little Saling, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Little Saling, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Saling, Essex
St. Peter and St. Paul Bardfield Saling, Essex .jpg
St. Peter and St. Paul Bardfield Saling, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Freshwell
County Essex
Poor Law Union Dunmow
Registration District Braintree
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sampford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

LITTLE SALING is also known as BARDFIELD-SALING (St. Margaret), it is a parish, in the union of Dunmow, the hundred of Freshwell, and N. division of Essex, it is 5¾ miles (N. E.) from Dunmow.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Little Saling, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Little Saling, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1561-1901
1561-1957
1561-2005
FREG 1560-1562, 1583-1721
1561-1562, 1584-1653, 1694-1735
1560-1562, 1583-1640, 1680-1713
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches

Society of Friends/Quaker

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241368.


Poor Law Unions

Dunmow Poor Law Union,Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: date accessed 28 May 2013
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.
  3. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 19 April 2012.
  4. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/England,_Essex_Parish_Registers_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 2 September 2014.