Little Warley, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Little Warley, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Little Warley, Essex|
St. Peter Little Warley Essex
|Poor Law Union||Billericay|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Warley, Little or Little Warley (St. Peter), is a parish, in the union of Billericay, hundred of Chafford, S division of Essex, it is 3½ miles S E of Brentwood.
Little Warley is a parish which for administrative purposes is the district in Brentwood, Essex. It is situated south of Thorndon Country Park.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Little Warley, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|Little Warley, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office St peter See also Essex Regiment Chapel.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241363.
Poor Law Unions
No records of manorial courts survive for Little Warley. There are parish vestry minutes for 1718–71 and overseers' accounts and rates for 1749–95. In 1835 Little Warley became part of Billericay poor-law union. 
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Little Warley on Genuki
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
- Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848) Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.
- Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.
- From: 'Little Warley', A History of the County of Essex: Volume 7 (1978), pp. 174-180. British History Date accessed: 03 February 2011.