Littlebury, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Littlebury, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Holy Trinity Littlebury, Essex
|Poor Law Union||Saffron Walden|
|Registration District||Saffron Walden|
|Parish registers: 1545|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1800|
|Rural Deanery||Saffron Walden|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Littlebury, is a village and a parish in Saffron Walden district, Essex. The village is on the river Cam, it is adjacent to the Eastern Counties railway, 2 miles N of Audley-End railway station, and 2 miles W of Saffron-Walden; and has a postoffice under Saffron-Walden. The parish contains also the hamlet of Littlebury-Green
The village formerly supported a chapel, situated on Chapel Green, but no trace of it remains.
Littlebury is a small village in north-west Essex. It includes the two hamlets of Littlebury Green and Catmere End. Situated in the Uttlesford district, the parish of Littlebury includes the hamlets of Catmere End, Chapel Green, and Littlebury Green which lie to the west and south-west of the church.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Littlebury, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Littlebury, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241377.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Littlebury on GENUKI
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed 19 May 2013.
- Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.
- 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.