Livingston County, Michigan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Livingston County, Michigan)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Michigan Gotoarrow.png Livingston County

Guide to Livingston County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Livingston County, Michigan
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Founded March 21, 1833
County Seat Howell
Address Livingston County Courthouse
200 E Grand River Ave.
Howell, MI 48843
Phone: (517) 546-0500
Fax: (517) 546-4354
Livingston County Website

County Information

Livingston County, Michigan Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1867 1836 1867 1820 1834 1837

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth, death, divorce and court records from 1867
and marriage records from 1836.
Probate Judge has probate records;
Register of Deeds has land records. [2]


Parent County

1833--Livingston County was created 21 March 1833 from Shiawassee and Washtenaw Counties. It was attached to Shiawassee and Washtenaw Counties prior to organization 4 April 1836. County seat: Howell [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genesee  • Ingham  • Jackson  • Oakland  • Shiawassee  • Washtenaw

Livingston CountyOakland CountyLapeer CountyClinton CountyIngham CountyJackson CountyWashtenaw CountyWayne CountyGenesee CountyShiawassee CountyMILivingston.JPG



Livingston County Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county Family History Library
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MIGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Michigan Cemeteries for more information.


State Census


Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.


Emigration and Immigration


Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Livingston County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.





Finding More Michigan Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Livingston County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


  • 1880-Present - Brighton Obituary Index, 1880 - present -- provided by the Brighton Public Library. Incudes obits from the Brighton Argus, the ivingston County Argus-Dispatch , and the Livingston Daily Press and Argus.


In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Michigan, Livingston and search for Probate records in the list.

Note: Not every county in Michigan will have Probate Records in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Online Probate Records


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Societies and Libraries

Livingston County Genealogical Society
PO Box 1073
Howell 48844

Livingston County Historical Society
PO Box 154
Howell 48844

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 369-384. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Livingston County, Michigan page 347, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).