Livingston County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Livingston County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Missouri go to Livingston County

Guide to Livingston County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Livingston County, Missouri
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Founded January 6, 1837
County Seat Chillicothe
Address Livingston County Court House
700 Webster Street,
Chillicothe, Mo 64601
Phone: 660-646-2293
Livingston County Website

County Information

Livingston County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1883 1837 1883 1840 1837 1837

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth and death records; Recorder of Deeds has marriage and land records; Probate Court has probate records; Clerk of the Circuit Court has court records.[2]


  • Livingston County was formed in 1837 from Carroll County. Named after Hon. Edward Livingston, the 11th Secretary of State of the United States under President Andrew Jackson. History of Livingston County
  • You've heard of the "greatest thing since sliced bread. It was recently discovered that sliced bread was first offered for sale - ever - in Chillicothe, Missouri. A product of the Chillicothe Baking Company, it was sliced on a machine called the Rohwedder Bread Slicer. Invented by Iowa inventor, Otto Rohwedder, the bread slicer was put into practice in 1928 in beautiful downtown Chillicothe.

Parent County

1837--Livingston County was created 6 January 1837 from Carroll County. County seat: Chillicothe [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Caldwell  • Carroll  • Chariton  • Daviess County  • Grundy  • Linn

Livingston CountyLinn CountyMacon CountyGrundy CountyChariton CountyCarroll CountySaline CountyHoward CountyLafayette CountyRay CountyClay CountyJackson CountyCaldwell CountyClinton CountyDaviess CountyDeKalb CountyGentry CountySullivan CountyMercer CountyHarrison CountyAdair CountyMOLivingston.JPG



Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.
  • An article about the Federal and State Census Records that exist for Missouri. Missouri Census
  • No State Census Records exist for Livingston County, Missouri.
  • This article was written by G. David Dilts. It deals with finding elusive ancestors in the census. He gave this presentation at the Atlanta Family History expo in 2010. Finding Elusive Ancestors


Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.


St. Columban, Chillicothe

  • 1857-1876 - St. Columban, Chillicothe, Baptism Index 1857-1876. Batch C511551 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1857-1885 - St. Columban, Chillicothe, Marriage Index 1857-1885. Batch M511551 at FamilySearch - free.[4]


Funeral Homes

Lindley Funeral Home

  • 910 Washington St. Chillicothe, Missouri 64601, Phone: (660) 646-4857
  • 309 Main St. Hale, Missouri 64643, Phone: (660) 565-2315
  • 102 E Main St. Laredo, Missouri 64652, Phone: (660) 286-3415
  • 120 N Main St. Tina, Missouri 64682, Phone: (660) 622-4413

Heritage Funeral Home

  • 3141 North Washington St., Chillicothe, Missouri 64601, Phone: (660) 646-6600
  • 490 W. Main, Breckenridge, Missouri 64625, Phone: (660) 644-5997

Resthaven Mortuary and Cemetery

  • 310 North Highway 65, Trenton, Missouri 64683, Phone: (660) 359-5672

Roberson Funeral Home

  • 503 So. Broadway St., Jamesport, Missouri 64648, Phone: (660) 684-6999

Slater Funeral Home

  • 412 E 9th St, Trenton, Missouri, 64683, Phone: (660) 359-3954

Whitaker-Eads Funeral Home

  • 813 Custer St, Trenton, Missouri 64683, Phone: (660) 359-3932


Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Livingston County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • The Livingston County Library has a web paged titled Livingston County History. The site has County History, Communitiy Histories, Biographies, and a few Genealogy links.*
  • History of Caldwell and Livingston Counties, Missouri : including a history of their townships, towns, and villages, together with a condensed history of Missouri...biographical sketches of prominent citizens; general and local statistics...incidents and reminiscences. St. Louis : National Historical Co., 1886.
  • One hundred years in Livingston County. [S.l.] : Livingston County Bicentennial Agriculture Committee (Missouri), 1976.





Civil War

Online Records


Service men in Livingston County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Livingston County, Missouri:

- 4th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 23rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 27th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 4th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 6th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company K
- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company L
- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company M

Naturalization and Citizenship


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Livingston County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.


Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Historical Society


  • Livingston County Library
    450 Locust Street
    Chillicothe, MO 64601
    Phone: (660) 646 0547

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Livingston County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Livingston County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Livingston Missouri" and search


Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Livingston County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Livingston County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search Livingston County, MO Genealogy Forum Livingston County Message Board ($) Livingston County Message Board


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Livingston County, Missouri. Page 402 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at
  5. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  6. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.