Llanfair-ar-y-bryn, Carmarthenshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlanfair-ar-y-bryn

A guide to genealogy in Llanfair-ar-y-bryn, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanfair-ar-y-bryn is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

History

For more information on Llanfair-ar-y-bryn see Llanfair-ar-y-bryn at Genuki.

Administration

LLANVAIR-AR-Y-BRYN (LLAN-FAIR-AR-Y-BRYN), a parish, in the union of LLANDOVERY, higher division of the hundred of PERVERTH, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, ½ a mile (N.E.) from Llandovery, on the turnpike-road to Builth; comprising the townships of Rhandir Abbot, Rhandir Canol, Rhandir Isâv, and Rhandir Uchâv. In the township of Rhandir Abbot are some extensive lead-mines, the property of Earl Cawdor. These mines, which are among the principal in South Wales, have at times employed from one to two hundred workmen; but the number is now materially diminished, owing to the long and laborious land-carriage to Llanelly. The church, dedicated to St. Mary, and situated in Llandingat, nearly a mile from its own parish, is an ancient edifice, consisting of one large aisle, with a tower. There are three places of worship for Independents, and one for Calvinistic Methodists.[1]

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464312.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.