Llanfeigan, Breconshire Genealogy
LLANVIGAN, or LLANVEUGAN (LLAN-FEIGAN), a parish, comprising the Upper and Lower divisions, in the hundred of Pencelly, union and county of Brecknock, South Wales, 4 miles (S. E. by S.) from Brecknock. This place derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Veugan, or Meugan, who, according to the late Iolo Morganwg, was preceptor to the renowned Merlyn Emrys, and also distinguished himself as a poet. It lies nearly in the central part of the county. The village is pleasantly situated at a short distance from the river Usk, which forms the principal boundary of the parish on the north and east; and the surrounding scenery is pleasing and well-wooded, and in some parts picturesque. The church, an ancient and well-built edifice, with a square tower of good proportions, is beautifully situated on the declivity of a lofty ridge, at some distance from the south bank of the river Usk. There are two places of worship in the parish for Independents, and one for Calvinistic Methodists; in each of which a Sunday school is also held.
Also spelled Llanfeugan. LLANVIGAN, (or Llanfeugan), a parish in the hundred of Penkelly, county Brecon, 4 miles S.E. of Brecknock, its post town, and 9 N.W. of Crickhowell. It is situated in the vicinity of the river Usk and the Brecon canal. The parish contains the hamlets of Glynn-Collwn, and Penkelly. A castle formerly stood here, which belonged to the Mortimers. The people are mostly employed in the mines. For more information see Llanfeugan, Breconshire at Genuki.org.uk
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464300.
Maps and Gazetteers
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 124-129. Adapted. Date accessed: 25 January 2014.