Llanfihangel Aberbythych, Carmarthenshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlanfihangel Aberbythych

A guide to genealogy in Llanfihangel Aberbythych, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanfihangel Aberbythych is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.


LLANVIHANGEL-ABERBYTHIC (LLAN-FIHANGEL-ABER-BYTHYCH), a parish, in the union of LLANDILO-VAWR, hundred of ISCENNEN, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 3 1/2 miles (W.S.W.) from Llandilo. The environs comprehend many fine views. The neighbourhood abounds with limestone, which rises from the sea near Kidwelly, and extends to this parish, and is burned in great abundance for manure, which is conveyed to many parts of the principality. For this purpose a rail-road has been constructed from the works at Castell-y-Garreg, in the parish, to the Burry river. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, a small neat edifice, was according to a tablet recording the event, erected in 1617. There are places of worship for Independents and Calvinistic Methodists. Golden Grove, the ancient seat of the Vaughans, Earls of Carberry, and now the property of Earl Cawdor, is situated within the parish.[1]

For more information on Llanfihangel Aberbythych see Llanfihangel Aberbythych at Genuki.


Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire


Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464311.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.