Llanfihangel-ar-Arth, Carmarthenshire Genealogy
A guide to genealogy in Llanfihangel-ar-Arth, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
LLANVIHANGEL-AR-ARTH, or YEROTH (LLAN-FIHANGEL-AR-ARTH), a parish, in the union of NEWCASTLE-EMLYN, higher division of the hundred of CATHINOG, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 12 miles (N. by E.) from Carmarthen. The parish is pleasantly situated on the river Teivy, over which the turnpike-road is continued by means of a handsome stone bridge. The surrounding scenery is pleasantly diversified, and in some parts highly picturesque; and the soil, though varying in different parts, is in general fertile. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, is situated on an eminence on the southern bank of the Teivy. The chapel of Pencader has been in ruins for nearly a century, but the cemetery is still entire. There are places of worship for Calvinistic Methodists, Baptists, and Independents.
For more information on Llanfihangel-ar-Arth see Llanfihangel-ar-Arth at Genuki.
|before 31 March 1974||Carmarthenshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Dyfed|
|from 1 April 1996||Carmarthenshire|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464307.
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Llanfihangel-ar-Arth at Vision of Britain.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.