Llangathen, Carmarthenshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Llangathen, Carmarthenshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlangathen

A guide to genealogy in Llangathen, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llangathen is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

History

LLANGATHEN (LLAN-GATHAN), a parish, in the union of LLANDILO-VAWR, lower division of the hundred of CATHINOG, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 4 miles (W. by S.) from Llandilo-Vawr. This parish is delightfully situated in a fertile district of considerable extent, celebrated for the richness and the diversity of its scenery. It comprises by admeasurement 5513 acres, of which 1873 are arable, 3400 meadow and pasture, and, by computation, 240 woodland and roads. The cultivation of wheat, barley, and oats, with the rearing of cattle, forms the principal employment of the farmers. The village, situated on the turnpike-road from Carmarthen through Aberguilly to Llandilo-Vawr, has a cheerful appearance, and is much enlivened by the number of travellers passing through it. The church is dedicated to St. Cathan and stands on a lofty eminence. There are two places of worship in the parish for Calvinistic Methodists.[1]

For more information on Llangathen see Llangathen at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464307.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.