Llangeler, Carmarthenshire Genealogy
A guide to genealogy in Llangeler, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
LLANGELER (LLAN-GELER), a parish, in the union of NEWCASTLE-EMLYN, higher division of the hundred of ELVET, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 5 miles (E. by S.) from Newcastle-Emlyn. It comprises by computation 6414 acres, of which nearly 2000 are arable, 3480 pasture, 900 waste, and the remainder woodland; the surface is undulated, and the surrounding scenery pleasantly varied, embracing a portion of the fertile and picturesque Vale of Teivy. The church, dedicated to St. Celer, is a plain and neat edifice, in good repair. An ancient chapel of ease, dedicated to St. Mary, and thence called "Capel Mair," has been entirely demolished. There is a place of worship which is jointly appropriated to Independents and Presbyterians.
For more information on Llangeler see Llangeler at Genuki.
|before 31 March 1974||Carmarthenshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Dyfed|
|from 1 April 1996||Carmarthenshire|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464310.
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Llangeler at Vision of Britain.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.