Llanglydwen, Carmarthenshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlanglydwen

A guide to genealogy in Llanglydwen, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanglydwen is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales. It is in the community of Llanboidy.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

History

LLANGLYDWEN (LLAN-GLEDWYN), a parish, in the union of NARBERTH, lower division of the hundred of DERLLYS, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 9 miles (N.W.) from St. Clear's. This parish is pleasantly situated on the west of the river Tâf; the surrounding scenery is richly diversified, and the adjacent country well wooded; and some parts are in a high state of cultivation. Dôlwylim, is a handsome modernized mansion, romantically situated in a deep vale, though which flows the Tâf, forming here a boundary between the parishes of Llanglydwen, Llanboidy, and Killymaenllwyd. The church, dedicated to St. Cledwyn, is a small neat edifice, and was repaired and beautified some years since, at the expense of the family at Dôlwylim. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

For more information on Llanglydwen see Llanglydwen at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464309.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.