Llangrannog, Ceredigion

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.png Parishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlangrannog

A guide to genealogy in Llangrannog, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llangrannog is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

The redundant spelling Llangranog can be seen in some older documents.

History

LLANGRANOG (LLAN-GARANOG), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of MOYTHEN, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 20 miles (W. by N.) from Lampeter. This place derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Caranog, who flourished towards the close of the sixth century, and is said to have had a small chapel or oratory among the rocks on this part of the coast, where he spent his days in religious seclusion. The parish is pleasantly situated on the shore of Cardigan bay, by which it is bounded on the north-west, and on the turnpike road from Cardigan to Aberystwith. The village is seated in a deep dingle, sheltered by hills on each side, and opening at one extremity towards the sea. There are places of worship for Baptists and Independents.[1]

For more information see Llangrannog at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464304.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 47-55. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.