Llangynin, Carmarthenshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Llangynin, Carmarthenshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlangynin

A guide to genealogy in Llangynin, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llangynin is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

The redundant spelling of Llanginning can be seen in some older documents.

History

LLANGINNING (LLAN-GYNIN), a parish in the higher division of the hundred of DERLLYS, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 2½ miles (W.N.W.) from St. Clear's. This parish, which derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Cynin, or from its situation on the river Cynin, by which it is bounded on the eastern side, contains a considerable tract of land, and with the exception of a very small portion, is inclosed and in a good state of cultivation. The church has no architectural claim to particular description. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

For more information on Llangynin see Llangynin at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464309.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.