Llanina, Ceredigion

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Llanina, Cardiganshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.png Parishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlanina

A guide to genealogy in Llanina, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanina is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales. Today, it is within the community of Llanllwchaearn.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

History

LLANINA (LLAN-INA), a parish in the hundred of MOYTHEN, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 15 miles (N.W. by W.) from Lampeter. This parish is situated on the shore of Cardigan bay, by which it is bounded on the south and south-east, and is intersected by a small river, which, formed by the union of two streams to the south of the parish, pursues a northerly course and falls into the bay of Cardigan, near the small harbour of New Quay. The lands are mostly enclosed and in a tolerable state of cultivation&; the surrounding scenery is pleasingly varied, and in some parts enriched with thriving timber; and the views, extending over the open bay, are not destitute of interest. The church, a neat edifice is situated near the shore of the bay, at the extremity of a well-wooded dingle: it is dedicated to St. Ina, King of the West Saxons, who, devoting his life to religious pursuits, resigned the government of his kingdom to his kinsman Ethelred, and went on a pilgrimage to Rome; having passed the remainder of his life in retirement, he was canonized after his death. There is a place of worship for Independents; and two Sunday schools are held.[1]

For more information, see Llanina at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464304.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Llanina at Vision of Britain

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 69-75. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.