Llanllawddog, Carmarthenshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlanllawddog

A guide to genealogy in Llanllawddog, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanllawddog is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

History

LLANLLAWDDOG (LLAN-LLAW-DDOG), a parish, in the lower division of the hundred of ELVET, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 8 miles (N.E. by N.) from Carmarthen. This parish is pleasantly situated nearly in the centre of the county, upon the great turnpike-road leading from Carmarthen to Lampeter; and comprises a very extensive tract of land, of which a considerable portion is open and uncultivated. The surrounding country, though not distinguished by any striking peculiarity of feature, is agreeably diversified with hill and vale, in some of the latter of which are interesting combinations of rural and picturesque beauty. At a short distance from the church is the seat, lately rebuilt, of John Lloyd Price, Esq., high sheriff of the county in 1840, whose estate, on which he annually employs a considerable number of the poor, who would otherwise become burthensome to the parish, is principally situate here. The church, which is not remarkable for any architectural details, was formerly dependent on that of Aberguilly, but was separated from it by an act of parliament. There are one or two places of worship for dissenters, and two Sunday schools.[1]

For more information on Llanllawddog see Llanllawddog at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464310.



Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.