Llannerchaeron, Ceredigion

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlannerchaeron

A guide to genealogy in Llannerchaeron, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llannerchaeron is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

History

LLANYCHAËRON (LLAN - UWCH- AËRON), a parish in the upper division of the hundred of MOYTHEN, County of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 11 miles (N. W.) from Lampeter. The name of this place, signifying " the church above the Aëron," is derived from its situation upon that river, which falls into Cardigan bay, a few miles west-north-westward, at Aberaëron. Its surface is richly wooded, forming an agreeable contrast to the rugged and barren hills of the surrounding district; and the scenery is finely diversified, combining a pleasing variety of fertility and luxuriance. The church, dedicated to Non, one of the most distinguished female saints of Wales, and mother of St. David, is a neat edifice, consisting of a nave and chancel, with a tower, and is beautifully situated in a very picturesque spot.[1]

For more information see Llannerchaeron at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464304.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 157-165. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.