Llanwnnen, Ceredigion

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlanwnnen

A guide to genealogy in Llanwnnen, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanwnnen is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Dyffryn Teifi in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

History

LLANWNNEN (LLAN-WNEN), a parish in the upper division of the hundred of MOYTHEN, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 3¼miles (W. by S.) from Lampeter. This parish is bounded on the south by the river Teivy, and is intersected by the Granell, which flows into the Vale of Teivy, to its confluence with the superior stream, and on the turnpike road from, Lampeter to Cardigan. The surrounding scenery is beautifully picturesque, and the views of the adjacent country comprehend many objects of interest and features of pleasing character. The church, dedicated to St. Gwynin, is a small edifice, without either tower or spire, and possessing no architectural details of importance; it is thirty feet long and eighteen broad. There is a place of worship for Unitarians.[1]

For more information see Llanwnnen at Genuki

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464304.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 157-165. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.