Llanybydder, Carmarthenshire Genealogy
A guide to genealogy in Llanybydder, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
The redundant spelling of Llanybyther can be seen in some older documents.
LLANYBYTHER (LLAN-Y-BYDDAR), a parish, in the union of LAMPETER, higher division of the hundred of CATHYNOG, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 5½ miles (S.W.) from Lampeter; comprising the northern and southern divisions. This place is situated on the road from Lampeter-Pont-Stephen to Carmarthen, and on the border of the county. The parish is extensive, comprising nearly ten thousand acres, of which about two thousand are uninclosed, and containing a great variety of soil and surface. The prevailing kinds of timber are fir and young oak, and the chief agricultural produce oats and barley. The village of Llanybyther is situated on the banks of the river Teivy. The parish also contains the village of Glanduar and that of Abergorlech. The church, dedicated to St. Peter, has recently undergone thorough repair. There is also a chapel at Abergorlech. There are two places of worship for Independents, and one each for Baptists and Methodists.
For more information on Llanybydder see Llanybydder at Genuki.
|before 31 March 1974||Carmarthenshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Dyfed|
|from 1 April 1996||Carmarthenshire|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464307.
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Llanybydder at Vision of Britain.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.