Llechryd, Ceredigion

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Llechryd, Cardiganshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlechryd

A guide to genealogy in Llechryd, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llechryd is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Dyffryn Teifi in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

History

LLÊCHRHYD (LLÊCHRYD), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 3 miles (S.E.) from Cardigan. This place is by some historians supposed to have been the scene of a sanguinary engagement which took place between Rhys ab Tewdwr, sovereign of South Wales, and the three sons of Bleddyn ab Cynvyn who, in a previous insurrection, had compelled that sovereign to seek refuge in Ireland. Rhys returning thence, in 1087, with a powerful army to recover possession of his dominions, landed on the neighbouring coast, and was met at a place called Llêchryd by the sons of Bleddyn, who resolved to give him battle. The parish is pleasantly situated on the northern bank of the river Teivy, which is navigable for small vessels to Llêchrhŷd bridge, an ancient structure mantled with ivy, and forming a truly interesting feature in the scenery of the place. The church, dedicated to the Holy Cross, is an ancient edifice. There are places of worship for Calvinistic Methodists and Independents, the latter said to have been originally built by Major Wade, an officer under Oliver Cromwell.[1]

For more information see Llechyrd at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 165-172. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.