Loddington, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Loddington, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Loddington, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
"
Loddington, Leicestershire
St Michael and All Angels Loddington Leicestershire.jpg
St Michael and All Angels Loddington, Leicestershire
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Billesdon
Registration District Billesdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1554
Bishop's Transcripts: 1566
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Goscote
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

LODDINGTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Billesdon, hundred of East Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 7¼ miles (N. by W.) from Uppingham.[1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Loddington like this:

LODDINGTON, a parish, with a village, in Billesdon district, Leicester; on the river Eye, adjacent to Rutland, 5½ miles WNW of Uppingham, and 6½ SW of Oakham r. station.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Loddington, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
LODDINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1564-1837
1564-1837
1564-1837
PRTS
1564-1837

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Loddington Bap 1554 - 1998 Marr 1554 - 1989 Bur 1554 - 1993

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438742.


Poor Law Unions

Billesdon Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 126-129. Date accessed: 07 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.