Logie, Perthshire, Scotland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Logie, Perthshire, Scotland)
Jump to: navigation, search

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Perthshire Gotoarrow.png Logie

Parish #374

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Logie. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.


History

LOGIE, a parish, in the counties of Clackmannan, Perth, and Stirling, 2 miles (N. E. by N.) from Stirling; containing the villages of Craigmill, Menstrie, Blairlogie, Bridge of Allan, and Causeyhead. Logie derives its name from the Gaelic word lag or laggie, denoting "low or flat ground," the lands consisting principally of an extensive tract of perfectly level country. The church, built in 1805, is a neat edifice containing sittings for 644 persons, and is beautifully situated at the foot of the Ochil mountains. The members of the Free Church have a place of worship.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Logie, as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year
FHL Film Number
Surname Indexes
1841
1042695
none
1851
1042246,1042281
941.36/L1 X22c 1851
1861
0103894
none
1871
0104076
none
1881
0203508
6086646 (6 fiche)
1891
0208737
none

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.


Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1688-1819 - baptisms 1040124

1811 - list of inhabitants 1040124

1819-1854 - occasional baptisms 1040125 item 1-2
Marriages: 1688-1819 1040124

1819-1855 1040125 item 1-2
Deaths: 1761-1796 - occasional burials 1040125 item 1-2

1822-1852 - occasional burials 1040125 item 1-2

 

Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see Scotland’s People website, a pay-for-view website. The Scottish Church Records Index is also still available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.  Some records may also be indexed in other FamilySearch collections for Scotland.
Births: Birth records very well kept. After July 1755 occur six pages containing children of associates, dated 1744–1775.
Marriages: Marriage record well kept. Prior to 1746 there are generally separate entries of proclamations and of marriages. From 1795–1803 inclusive, the fact of marriage is seldom recorded, and after February 1811 the record is one of proclamations.
Deaths: On the back side of the last pages of the burial entries of the first volume are entered four burials that should have been recorded in the second volume. The dates are 1811, 1829, 1837 and 1843.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes 1686–1859
Poors’ Fund Accounts 1780–1794
Treasurers’ Accounts 1799–1828
Accounts 1744–1761, 1832–1836
Minutes and Accounts 1686–1690, 1726–1744, 1761–1811
Note: Available at the Stirling Council Archives, Stirling, Scotland, record CH21001.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

Bridge Of Allan United Presbyterian Church

History—
In 1848 about 80 persons belonged to the United Presbyterian Church. They desired a place of worship in their own connection and applied for and obtained supply of sermon from the United Presbyterian Presbytery of Stirling. Rev. John Steedman preached in the village on the fourth Sabbath of February 1848. It prospered and was regularly organized on the 14th of November and became the first congregation to be originated in the United Presbyterian Church. Church was built in 1849.
Source: Annals and Statistics of the United Presbyterian Church, by Rev. William MacKelvie, D.D., pub. 1873. Film #477618. More details are given in the source.

Records—
Baptismal Register 1851–1898
Minutes 1849–1924
Collection Book 1849–1942
Communion Rolls 1851–1950
Note: Available at the Stirling Council Archives, Stirling, Scotland, record CH3/652.

Bridge Of Allan Free Church

History—
It appears that none “came out” of Logie parish church in 1843. A few who worshiped in Stirling North and some members of Blairlogie Secession Church met in Bridge of Allan, then only a hamlet, after the Disruption. The charge was sanctioned in 1843. A church was erected in 1845. A new church was built in 1855. The growth of the village from 1850 to 1880 as a popular health resort brought increase to the congregation.
Membership: 1848, 175; 1900, 374.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details are given in the source.

Records—
Minutes 1844–1883
Note: Available at the Stirling Council Archives, Stirling, Scotland, record CH3/1023.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Logie was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Dunblane until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Dunblane]. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog  for the 'Place-names' of Perthshireand the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Dunblane.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Perthshire. Look in the library catalog
 for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 197-216. Adapted. Date accessed: 15 May 2014.


Return to Perthshire parish list.