Lolworth, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lolworth, Cambridgeshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Lolworth, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lolworth, Cambridgeshire
All Saints Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northstow
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union St Ives
Registration District St Ives
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bourn
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

LOLWORTH (All Saints), a parish, in the union of St. Ives, hundred of Northstow, county of Cambridge, 6¼ miles (N. W. by W.) from the town of Cambridge. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

An indexed transcription of the parish registers of Lolworth : baptisms, 1572-1950; marriages, 1567-1950; burials, 1565-1948; banns, 1754-1950 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Lolworth, 1599-1848 at FHL

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241224.

Poor Law Unions

St Ives Poor Law Union, Huntingdonshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Lolworth on GENUKI


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 126-129. Date accessed and adapted: 08 July 2013.