Long Compton, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Long Compton, Warwickshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WarwickshireGotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Long Compton, Warwickshire
Long Compton St Peter&St Paul.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kington
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Chipping Norton
Registration District Chipping Norton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1670
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kineton
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

Long Compton or Compton (Long),is a village and a parish in the district of Chipping-Norton and county of Warwick. The village stands near the boundary with Oxford and Gloucester, it is 5 miles SSE of Shipston-on-Stour, and 6 miles E of Moreton railway station; it has a post office under Shipston-on-Stour. The parish includes also the hamlet of Weston. There are Independent and Wesleyan chapels.[1]

Additional information:

Long Compton St Peter, St Paul

It is believed that St. Augustine preached on this site in 597AD. The present building dates from the 13th century, with significant additions and alterations over the years. The lych gate has a thatched roof the survivor of a row of cottages which formed the entrance to the church.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Long Compton, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3]
Long Compton, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1670-1812 1670-1812 1670-1812 1670-1812 1670-1812 1670-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464172.


Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Date accessed and adapted: 14 November 2013. fckLR
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
http://www.achurchnearyou.com/long-compton-st-peter-st-paul/ for information about the church