Long Crichel, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Long Crichel, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes Gotoarrow.png Long Crichel

Guide to Long Crichel, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Long Crichel, Dorset
Long+Crichel.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cranborne; Monckton-up-Wimborne
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Wimborne and Cranborne
Registration District Wimborne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1602; Separate registers exist for Cranborne St Michael and All Angels beginning 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: 1731
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pimperne
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

CRITCHELL (Long), a parish in Wimborne district, Dorset; on the Roman road from Old Sarum, 6 miles WSW of Cranborne, and 6½ NNE of Spettisbury railroad station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Long Crichel, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1660
1657
1660
Images
1660-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4]
Indexes 1731-1879 Ancestry[5] 1657-1744 Joiner[6]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241340.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 08 July 2013.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012. Bishop's transcripts.
  6. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 24 June 2012.