Long Eaton, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Long Eaton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Long Eaton, Derbyshire|
Long Eaton St Lawrence Derbyshire
|Hundred||Morlestone and Litchurch|
|Poor Law Union||Shardlow|
|Parish registers: 1813|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Sawley|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Long Eaton St Laurence was formed originally as a chapelry in Sawley, Derbyshire parish. It became a separate Ecclesiastical parish in 1864. Part of the parish in 1923 formed Long Eaton St John Parish.
EATON, LONG, a chapelry, in the parishof Sawley, union of Shardlow, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 6¼ miles (N.) from Kegworth; There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
EATON (Long), a township-chapelry in Sawley parish, Derby; at the verge of the county, on the Erewash river and canal, and on the Erewash Valley railway, 8 miles SW by W of Nottingham. It has a station on the railway, and a post office under Nottingham. There are three dissenting chapels..
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Long Eaton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Long Eaton St Lawrence(1864) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's||1816-1816|| NONE
Previously a chapelry in Sawley, Derbyshire parish seperate registers commence in 1813 and the parish was formed in 1865
Derbyshire Record Office reference D3400 has deposited registers Bap 1813-2000 Mar 1838-1997 Burials 1839-1882 Banns 1945-1948, 1958-1966
Long Eaton St John was formed as a parish in 1923 and a small part of Sandiacre, Derbyshire parish was added in 1929
Derbyshire Record Office reference D 6878 has deposited registers Bap 1920-1968 Banns 1901-2000
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
- Wesleyan Methodist
- United Methodist
- General Baptist
- Primitive Methodist
- Free Baptist
- Free Evangelical
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241294.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Long Eaton on GENUKI