Long Itchington, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WarwickshireGotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Long Itchington, Warwickshire
Long Itchington Holy Trinty contributor Andy F.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Knightlow
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Southam
Registration District Southam
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1653
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Marton
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

Long Itchington or Itchington (Long), is a village and a parish in Southam district, Warwickshire. The village stands on the river Ichene or Watergall, it is near the Warwick and Napton canal, 2 miles NNW of Southam and 2 miles S of Marton railway station; and the post office is under Rugby. The parish also contains the hamlets of Stoney-Thorpe and Bascote. There are chapels for Independents and Primitive Methodists.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Long Itchington, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2]
Long Itchington, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1653-1812 1653-1812 1653-1812 1653-1812 1653-1812 1653-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464177.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Date accessed and adapted: 14 November 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.