Long Newnton, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Long Newnton, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Long Newnton

Guide to Long Newnton, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Long Newnton, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Malmesbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Tetbury
Registration District Tetbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1648
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malmesbury
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

NEWNTON (Long) (Holy Trinity), a village and a parish in the district of Tetbury and in the county of Wilts(Wiltshire). It is located in the union of Tetbury, hundred of Malmesbury, Malmesbury and Kingswood, it was known to the Saxons as Newantune.[1][2]

The village stands near Akeman-street and near the boundary with Gloucestershire. Newnton is 1½ mile E of Tetbury, and 6½ S W by W of Tetbury-road railway station.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Long Newnton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[3][4][5][6]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[7]
FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[9]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[10]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[11]
LONG NEWNTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1648-1812 1648-1812 1648-1753 1648-1753 1648-1812 1648-1812
AC 1813-1907 1813-1907 1758-1938 1758-1938 1813-1988 1813-1988
FHSO 1800-1836
FREG
1653-1812

JOIN
1654-1812

NIM
1606-1837

TGEN
1653-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464199.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 398-403. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 20 June 2016.
  6. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  7. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  8. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  9. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  10. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  11. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.