Long Newton, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Long Newton, Durham)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Durham
Durham Parishes
Long Newton
Long Newton St Mary Co Durham.jpg

Parish History

NEWTON, LONG (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Stockton-upon-Tees, S. W. division of Stockton ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 4½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Stockton. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/172 1762-1841 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Family Search Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1564-1978 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/LN).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Stockton Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Long Newton on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., ,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.