Long Stanton All Saints, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Long Stanton All Saints, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Long Stanton All Saints, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northstow
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Chesterton
Registration District Chesterton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1672
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chesterton
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

STANTON, LONG (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Chesterton, hundred of Northstow, county of Cambridge, 6¼ miles (N. W.by N.) from Cambridge. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Long Stanton All Saints, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Long Stanton All Saints, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1599-1885 1599-1885
1599-1885

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Long Stanton All Saints, 1672-1877 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Long Stanton All Saints, 1599-1885 have been digitised.

Non Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241224.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Long Stanton All Saints on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 186-192. Date accessed and adapted: 08 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.