Long Stowe, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Long Stowe, Cambridgeshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Long Stowe, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Long Stowe, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Longstow
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Caxton
Registration District Caxton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bourn
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

STOW, LONG, a parish, in the union of Caxton and Arrington, hundred of Longstow, county of Cambridge, 2 miles (S. S. E.) from Caxton.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Long Stowe, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Long Stowe, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1599-1856 1599-1856
1599-1856

Parish registers for Longstow, 1570-1876 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Long Stow, 1599-1856 have been digitised.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241223.

 

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Longstowe on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 234-238. Date accessed and adapted: 08 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.