Longdon, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Longdon, Worcestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Longdon, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Longdon, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pershore
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Upton upon Severn
Registration District Upton on Severn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powyke
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

LONGDON (St. Mary), a parish in the union of Upton-upon-Severn, Lower division of the hundred of Pershore, Upton and W. divisions of the county of Worcester, 3 miles (S. S. W.) from Upton-upon-Severn.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Longdon, Worcestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[2]
Longdon, Worcestershire Genealogy Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
DEAN 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464213.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51118 Date accessed and adapted: 11 October 2013.
  2. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 18 July 2016. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'


Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.