Longfleet, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Longfleet, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes Gotoarrow.png Longfleet

Guide to Longfleet, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Longfleet, Dorset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cogdean; Poole
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Poole
Registration District Poole
Records begin
Parish registers: 1833
Bishop's Transcripts: 1847
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whitchurch
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

LONGFLEET, a tything and a chapelry in Canford Magua parish, Dorset. The tything lies averagely 1 mile NNE of Poole town and railroad station; and includes part of the town and of the harbour.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Longfleet, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.
Indexes 1847-1884 Ancestry[2]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241340.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 08 July 2013.
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.