Longnor, Staffordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Longnor, Staffordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Longnor, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Longnor, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Leek
Registration District Leek
Records begin
Parish registers: 1691
Bishop's Transcripts: 1789
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alstonfield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Parish History

LONGNOR, a market-town, township, and chapelry,in the parish of Alstonfield, union of Leek, N. division of the hundred of Totmonslow and of the county of Stafford, 10 miles (N. E.) from Leek, and 162 (N.N. W.) from London. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Longnor is an Ecclesiastical Parish and a market town in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1737 from chapelry in Alstonfield, Staffordshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Fawfieldhead, Hollinsclough, and Heathylee.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Longnor parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1795-1846


Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474629.

Poor Law Unions

Leek Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.




  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 172-175. Date accessed: 02 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 14 August 2014.
  3. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8