Loughborough, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Loughborough, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Loughborough
Registration District Loughborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1838
Bishop's Transcripts: 1838
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Akeley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

LOUGHBOROUGH (All Saints), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of West Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester. [1]

In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described Loughborough like this:

Loughborough, market town, par., and township, Leicestershire, on Loughborough Canal, 10½ miles NW. of Leicester and 115 miles from London by rail.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Loughborough All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Loughborough All Saints Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1538-1910
1538-1910
1538-1910

Loughborough Emmanuel parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Loughborough Emmanuel Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1838-1913
1839-1910
1838-1887

Loughborough Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Loughborough Holy Trinity Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1879-1910
1879-1910
1879-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Loughborough All Saints Bap 1538 - 1997 Marr 1538 – 1978 (Banns to1950) Bur 1538 - 1913

Non-Conformist churches and records

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Loughborough Primitive Methodist (Dead Lane) Births, Baptisms 1828-1837

Loughborough Primitive Methodist (Nottingham Rd) Marriages 1911-1979 reference N/M/207/380-387

Loughborough Primitive Methodist (Swan Street) Marriages 1904-1962 reference N/M/207/297-302

Loughborough Wesleyan Methodist (Ashby Road) Baptisms 1925-1963 reference N/M/207/104

Loughborough Wesleyan Methodist (High Street Circuit) Births, Baptisms 1800-1836

Loughborough Wesleyan Methodist (Leicester Rd) Baptisms 1838-1944 reference N/M/207/43-44

Loughborough Wesleyan Methodist (Woodgate) Baptisms 1889-1907 reference 16D60/11

Loughborough Wesleyan Methdist (Circuit) Baptisms 1853-1876  reference N/M/207/182 Deaths 1804-1820 reference N/M/207/7

Loughborough New Jerusalemite Swedenborgian (Moira Street) Births, Baptisms 1828-1837
Loughborough Presbyterian (and Mountsorrel) Births, Baptisms 1791-1836
Loughborough Roman Catholoc (St. Mary) Baptisms 1803-1908 Confirmations 1842-1852 s 1855-1900;1841-1855
Marriages 1839-1840 deaths 1855-1907+
Loughborough Unitarian (Victoria St.) Birhts, Marriages, Deaths 1918-1969 CLOSED TO PUBLIC ACCESS

Loughborough The Rushes Salvation Aarmy Marriages 1982-1989 reference DE 4126<

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438745.


Poor Law Unions

Loughborough Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 175-179. Date accessed: 10 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.