Lowdham with Gunthorpe and Caythorpe, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Lowdham with Gunthorpe and Caythorpe, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Lowdham with Gunthorpe and Caythorpe, Nottinghamshire|
Lowdham St+Mary+The+Virgin Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
LOWDHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Southwell, S. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton and of the county of Nottingham, 7¾ miles (N. E.) from Nottingham; containing, with the townships of Caythorpe and Gunthorpe. A road from Nottingham to Newark passes through the village (which is a polling-place for South Notts); and the hamlet of Gunthorpe is bounded by the navigable river Trent, near which also Caythorpe is situated. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists and Wesleyans.
Lowdham St Mary is an Ancient parish which included Gunthorpe and Caythorpe.
Gunthorpe St John the Baptist was built as a chapel of ease for this parish Gunthorpe St John the Baptist
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Lowdham St Mary the Virgin (with Gunthorpe and Caythorpe) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|LOWDHAM PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1559-1996 Marriages 1562- 1951 Burials 1559-1980 Bishop's Transcripts 1599-1840
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Lowdham with Gunthorpe and Caythorpe
Gunthorpe, St John the Baptist. A transcription of 3 pages of Deaths, framed inside the church. Article is an alphabetical listing of surname, and given name, but no dates. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 57, pages 38-39, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Lowdham Monumental Inscriptions. An alphabetical listing by surname, given name, date of death, and sometimes showing relationship, and age - transcription of the Lowdham Gravestones, dated from 1729. Transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 18, pages 29-43, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - also vol. 78, includes St Mary's, Lowdham Cemetery and Lowdham War Memorial, pages 1-17, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..