Canada, Lower Census, 1825 (FamilySearch Historical Records)

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lower Canada Census 1825)
Jump to: navigation, search

Canada

Access the Records
Canada, Lower Canada Census, 1825 .
CID1834346
{{{CID2}}}
{{{CID3}}}
{{{CID4}}}
{{{CID5}}}
{{{CID6}}}
{{{CID7}}}
{{{CID8}}}
{{{CID9}}}
This article describes a collection of records at FamilySearch.org.
Canada
Canada flag.png
Flag of Canada
Canada.png
Record Description
Record Type Census
Collection years 1825-1825
Languages English, French
Title in the Language Canada, recensement du Bas-Canada
FamilySearch Resources
Related Websites
Archive
Public Archives, Ontario


What is in this Collection?

This collection includes census records for 1825. These records include indexes and images of census records for the modern province of Quebec. Census records can provide family relationships, age, year of birth, description of property, religion, and place of birth.

To Browse this Collection

You can browse through images in this collection by visiting the browse page for Canada, Lower Census, 1825.

What Can these Records Tell Me?

These Census records include:

  • Names of heads of families
  • Total number of persons living in family
  • Number belonging to each family absent from province
  • Number in family age six (6) years, but less than fourteen (14) years
  • Number in family over fourteen (14) years, but less than eighteen (18) years
  • Number of married males or females married in family
  • Ages of married persons, male and female

Collection Content

Sample Image

How Do I Search the Collection?

You can search the index or view the images or both. To begin your search it is helpful to know:

  • The name of your ancestor
  • The name of a relative or date of the event

Search the Index

Search by name by visiting the Collection Page.

  1. Fill in the search boxes on the Collection Page with the information you have
  2. Click Search to show possible matches

View the Images

View images in this collection by visiting the Browse Page.

  1. Select County/District
  2. Select Locality/Sub-district

How Do I Analyze the Results?

Compare each result from your search with what you know to determine if there is a match. This may require viewing multiple records or images.


For more tips about searching on-line collections see the on-line article FamilySearch Search Tips and Tricks.

What Do I Do Next?

I Found Who I was Looking for, What Now?

  • Try looking for your ancestor in other Canadian Censuses.
  • Use the information to find other records such as birth, christening, marriage, land and death records.
  • Use the information to find additional family members.
  • Repeat this process with additional family members found, to find more generations of the family.
  • Church Records often were kept years before government records were required and are a good source for finding ancestors before 1900.

I Can’t Find Who I’m Looking for, What Now?

  • Try viewing the original record. Indexes and transcriptions may not include all of the data found in the original records. Remember that there may be more than one person in the records with the same name.
  • If your ancestor does not have a common name, collect entries for every person who has the same surname. This list can help you identify possible relations that can be verified by records.
  • If you cannot locate your ancestor in the locality in which you believe they lived, then try searching records of a nearby locality in an area search.
  • Standard spelling of names typically did not exist during the periods our ancestors lived in. Try variations of your ancestor’s name, especially French versions.
  • Remember that sometimes individuals went by nicknames or alternated between using first and middle names. Try searching for these names as well.
  • Search the indexes and records of Canada Genealogy.
  • Search in the FamilySearch Library Catalog

Known Issues with This Collection

Important.png Problems with this collection?
See a list of known issues, workarounds, tips, restrictions, future fixes, news and other helpful information.

For a full list of all known issues associated with this collection see the attached article. If you encounter additional problems, please email them to support@familysearch.org. Please include the full path to the link and a description of the problem in your e-mail. Your assistance will help ensure that future reworks will be considered.

Citing This Collection

Citing your sources makes it easy for others to find and evaluate the records you used. When you copy information from a record, list where you found that information. Here you can find citations already created for the entire collection and for each individual record or image.

Collection Citation

"Canada, Lower Canada Census, 1825" Database with Images. FamilySearch. http://FamilySearch.org : accessed 2017. Citing Library and Archives. Public Archives, Ottawa, Ontario.

Record Citation (or citation for the index entry):

The citation for a record is available with each record in this collection, at the bottom of the record screen. You can search records in this collection by visiting the search page for Canada, Lower Canada Census, 1825.


Image Citation

The image citation is available by clicking on the Information tab at the bottom left of the screen. You can browse through images in this collection by visiting the browse page for Canada, Lower Canada Census, 1825.


Top of Page

How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?

We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. We are looking for additional information that will help readers understand the topic and better use the available records. We also need translations for collection titles and images in articles about records written in languages other than English. For specific needs, please visit WikiProject FamilySearch Records.

Please follow these guidelines as you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide.