Lowestoft, Suffolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lowestoft, Suffolk)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Parishes
Lowestoft, Suffolk
Lowestoft - Church of St Margaret.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mutford and Lothingland
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Mutford and Lothingland
Registration District Mutford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lothingland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Parish History

LOWESTOFT (St. Margaret), a sea-port, market town, and parish, in the incorporation and hundred of Mutford and Lothingland, E. division of Suffolk, 44 miles (N. E. by N.) from Ipswich, and 115 (N. E. by N.) from London. Here are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans. [1]

Lowestoft St Margaret is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich and the county of Suffolk.

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Lowestoft and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Lowestoft is in Mutford district. To search an index of Mutford district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records. While the district had been created in 1837 for the purpose of recording births, deaths , and marriages, the Hundreds had been in existence for hundreds of years for administrative, military, and judicial purposes.

Church records

The Parish Registers begin in 1561. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Lothingland Deanery, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. See Suffolk Church Records

Lowestoft, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
Lowestoft, Suffolk Genealogy Parish (1561) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1561-1812

FREG 1561-1604, 1813-1832
1561-1605
1561-1605, 1846-1867
FS PRs Undefined 1561-1832 Undefined 1561-1786 Undefined 1561-1812, 1846-1902
IGI 1561-1812, 1872-1875
1561-1812, 1872-1875
1882-1902
NBI

1561-1902

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Cemetery: Municipal

Census records

There are census records available for Lowestoft from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Lowestoft Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.

Genealogy From Periodicals

Dr. Gott, Ian. At Sea - A Story of Two Hemsby Families. Gotts and Bessey 1850-1900. Family tree shows Stephen Bessey b 1785 marrying Elizabeth Daniel 1807 and descendants, and William Gotts marrying Charlotte Stimpson 12 October 1814 and their descendants spreading out to Caister, Upton, Manchester, Ormesby, Holton - Suffolk. Yarmouth, Rollesby Union. Surnames mentioned George, Stephen, Stimpson, Hunt, Smith and Long. Article is dated 1781-1961, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, old series, vol.5.pt3, pages 52-54. Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j old series vol.5, pt.3.

Woodger, Janet. and Feather, Mark. Kipper John Woodger (1813-1876) History of family of Nathan Woodger, and Mary nee Lambell, married 1812, their son John born 1813 who moved to Newcastle, to start a successful Kipper business, with descendants moving around Monkwearmouth, London Lowestoft, Newbiggin by the Sea, and Gt Yarmouth. Article dated 1812-1929, and is found in the Journal of the Northumberland & Durham Family History Society. vol26,no4,pages 121-124, Family History Library Ref. 942.8 B2jo v.26.no.4. Winter 2001

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Lowestoft was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District. Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Lowestoft - a must see site

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 179-182. Date accessed: 02 October 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.