Luddington with Hemington, Huntingdonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes
Luddington with Hemington, Huntingdonshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leightonstone; Polebrook
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union Oundle
Registration District Oundle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1635; Separate registers exist for Hemington (Northamptonshire) beginning 1574
Bishop's Transcripts: 1701; Separate records exist for Hemington (Northamptonshire) beginning 1702
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oundle
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office

Guide to Luddington with Hemington, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Luddington-in-the-Brook (St. Andrew), is a parish, in the union of Oundle, 6 miles S E from Oundle. The parishes Hemington and Luddington were lost and became one parish in 1849.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438880.


Church records

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Luddington on GENUKI

References

  1. Wilson, John Mariius, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.