Luddington with Hemington, Northamptonshire Genealogy
Guide to Luddington with Hemington, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Luddington with Hemington, Northamptonshire|
|Poor Law Union||Oundle|
|Parish registers: 1635; Separate registers exist for Hemington (Northamptonshire) beginning 1574|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1701; Separate records exist for Hemington (Northamptonshire) beginning 1702|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Northamptonshire Record Office|
LUDDINGTON-in-the-Brook (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Oundle, partly in the hundred of Leightonstone, county of Huntingdon, but chiefly in that of Polebrook, N. division of the county of Northampton, 6 miles (S. E. by E.) from Oundle.
This parish is partly in Huntingdonshire and Northamptonshire with the majority of this parish being in Northamptonshire. Oringally these were two separate ancient parishes that were joined in 1849. It is also known as "Luddington in the Brook" according to Youngs "Guide to Local Administrative Units of England".
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Luddington with Hemington, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|Luddington with Hemington, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Hemington, Northamptonshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Hemington Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438880.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis,, Samuel A,. A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 02 December 2013.
- 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
- 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
- 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.