Luna County, New Mexico Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Luna County, New Mexico)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png New Mexico Gotoarrow.png Luna County

Guide to Luna County, New Mexico ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


Luna County, New Mexico
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Mexico
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
Founded 16 March, 1901
County Seat Deming
Address Luna County Courthouse
PO Box 1838;
Deming, NM 88031-1838
Phone: 505.546.0491 
Luna County Website


County Information

Luna County, New Mexico Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1901 1910 1901 1901

County Courthouse

Luna County Courthouse
PO Box 1838;
Deming, NM 88031-1838
Phone: 505.546.0491 

County Clerk has marriage, death, land, probate and military records from 1901, Deming newspapers from 1901.[1]


Parent County

  • Up until 1821New Spain controlled land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
  • From 1821 until 1846Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City. Starting in 1846 United States forces occupied New Mexico during the Mexican-American War.
  • 1848 -  Land that became the northern quarter of Luna County formally became a part of the United States when the Mexican-American War ended with ratification of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.
  • 1855 -  The Gadsden Purchase of Mexican land was added to Doña Ana County, New Mexico, part of which later became the southern part of Luna County.


The County is situated in southwest New Mexico and the County seat is located in the City of Deming. Luna County is a transportation hub with three railroads, an Interstate Highway and an airport with a 6,626 foot long asphalt-surfaced runway. Luna County is within the northern reach of the Chihuahua Desert. The famous old-West Butterfield Stage Line ran through Luna County. Luna County is the site of the historic completion of the second transcontinental railroad across the United States. The ceremonial silver spike joining the east-bound construction of the Southern Pacific Railroad with the west-bound construction of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad was driven in Deming on March 9, 1881.

Luna County has a population of 25,095 and shares a 54-mile border with the Republic of Mexico.[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Populated Places [3]

  • Deming (county seat)
  • Columbus
Census-designated places
  • City of the Sun
  • Keeler Farm
  • La Hacienda
  • Mountain View
  • Pecan Park
  • Pulpotio Bareas
  • Sunshine
  • Ventura
Ghost towns
  • Gage
  • Mowry City
  • Myndus
  • Nutt
  • Ojo de Vaca Station

Neighboring Counties



Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county Family History Library
NMGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NMGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See New Mexico Cemeteries for more information.


Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 3,913
1920 12,270 213.6%
1930 6,247 −49.1%
1940 6,457 3.4%
1950 8,753 35.6%
1960 9,839 12.4%
1970 11,706 19.0%
1980 15,585 33.1%
1990 18,110 16.2%
2000 25,016 38.1%
2010 25,095 0.3%
Source: "".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.


Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page. LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Columbus



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Luna County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.




Revolutionary War
Civil War
World War I
World War II



Online Probate Records

Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.

See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.

The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.


New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.

Vital Records


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Luna County, New Mexico page 474, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. accessed 09/29/2016
[[Category:New Mexico counties